User Login
Please wait, authorizing ...

Please use your department account


2020 STTJ District Teacher of the Year Candidates Announced

The St. Thomas-St. John District Office of the Insular Superintendent has announced four candidates in line for the top teacher spot in the district.

This year’s candidates are Faith Malvar, first grade teacher at Joseph Sibilly Elementary School; Michaelrose Ravalier, science teacher at Ivanna Eudora Kean High School; Mark Jospeh Sy, mathematics teacher at Bertha C. Boshulte Middle School and Iambakisye Richardson, graphic arts teacher at Charlotte Amalie High School.

One of the four will be announced as the 2020 St. Thomas-St. John District Teacher of the Year at a luncheon from 1-5 p.m. on Sunday, October 6 at Victor’s New Hideout restaurant on St. Thomas. Tickets are $60; tables seating 10 are $55 per person. The event is open to the public.

District Teacher of the Year candidates are first identified as the top teacher at their respective schools and then are selected as finalists from a pool of teacher applications submitted to the superintendent’s office. An independent selection committee reviews the applications, conducts one-on-one interviews with applicants and completes a formal classroom observation to arrive at the top candidates in the district.

Throughout the one-year tenure, the District Teacher of the Year will serve as a teacher-leader in various capacities within the district.

“We have outstanding finalists in each district who have demonstrated excellence in the teaching profession,” Education Commissioner Racquel Berry-Benjamin said. “Each of the candidates are well deserving of this honor.”

To purchase tickets to the October 6 luncheon, visit the St. Thomas-St. John District Office at the Edith Williams Alternative Academy campus, see any of the candidates or visit the front office of the candidates’ respective schools.

The St. Croix District Teacher of the Year ceremony will be held on October 16.



PHOTO (L to R)

Mark Joseph Sy, Faith Malvar, Michaelrose Ravalier and Iambakisye Richardson – St. Thomas-St. John 2020 District Teacher of the Year candidates.


St. Thomas

1834 Kongens Gade, St. Thomas, VI 00802
Phone: 340-774-0100

Curriculum Center:
Mon – Fri:  8AM – 5PM


St. Croix

2133 Hospital Street, Christiansted, St. Croix, VI 00820
Phone: 340-773-1095

Curriculum Center:
Mon – Fri:  8AM – 5PM