VIDE faculty/staff Login

Pearl B. Larsen Elementary Receives Monetary Donation From Eastern Region Of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

The Pearl B. Larsen Elementary School received a check donation in the amount of $5,750 raised through the efforts of the Eastern Region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. on Wednesday, February 6, 2019.

Norda Munoz Davila, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority state coordinator and other members of the sorority presented the check to Principal Joan Claxton and Assistant Principal Delicia Espinosa.

“It is my pleasure to present this check on behalf of Regional Director Rosia Blackwell Lawrence,” said Davila.


Regional Director Blackwell Lawrence and a delegation of members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority visited the school in December of 2018. While on island, the group took part in a community outreach project by reading to students at Pearl B. Larsen Elementary and was intrigued by their eagerness to learn.

“They came to St. Croix in December and had a beautiful time reading to the students, where they fell in love with them,” she said.

In keeping with the Sorority’s Educational Development Programmatic Thrust, Regional Director Blackwell Lawrence designated the Pearl B. Larsen Elementary School as the recipient of the Eastern Region's 2018 surplus funds and hopes that the donation helps the school in providing a better learning environment.

“We hope that this donation helps the students thrive and helps the school get back to its pre-Maria state in whatever way it can,” Davila continued. “We appreciate you all having us here. Enjoy!”


President of St. Croix Alumnae Chapter, Sandra Setourie reflected on their December visit.

“We came here and had a wonderful time. The students, administration and staff were so accommodating. They were really happy to see us. We felt really comfortable.”

Aside from conducting the leadership training, they wanted to be able to give back to the community.

“We're really truly happy we were able to help. Wherever our eastern region leadership travel, they always want to make an impact in that community,” said President Setourie.

Principal Claxton expressed her gratitude for the donation.

“We’re very thankful for the donation,” Claxton continued. “Obviously we need some computers in our computer lab and this donation will assist us in doing so. It will also assist us with our PBIS program.”

President of St. Croix Alumnae Chapter, Principal Joan Claxton, Assitant Principal Delicia Espinosa, and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority State Coordinator Norda Munoz Davila  .JPG

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority President of St. Croix Alumnae Chapter Sandra Setorie, Principal Joan Claxton, Assistant Principal Delicia Espinosa, and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority State Coordinator Norda Munoz Davila.

Print Email

St. Thomas

1834 Kongens Gade, St. Thomas, VI 00802
Phone: 340-774-0100

Curriculum Center:
Mon – Fri:  8AM – 5PM


St. Croix

2133 Hospital Street, Christiansted, St. Croix, VI 00820
Phone: 340-773-1095

Curriculum Center:
Mon – Fri:  8AM – 5PM